New Curriculum for Wales

This is an exciting time for the young people of Wales. A new Curriculum for Wales is coming that will enthuse and inspire learners from 3 to 16, giving them the foundations they need to succeed in an ever changing world.

The Minister for Education and Skills has announced that the Welsh Government will accept, in full, all of the recommendations set out in Successful Futures, Professor Graham Donaldson’s independent review of the curriculum and assessment arrangements in Wales. 

The following 4 purposes will be at the heart of our new curriculum in order to support our children and young people to be:

  • ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives;
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work;
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world;
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society. 

Key elements 

The new curriculum will include:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16;
  • 3 cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence;
  • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16;
  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point. 

 The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Expressive arts;
  • Health and well-being;
  • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16);
  • Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages);
  • Mathematics and numeracy;
  • Science and technology (including computer science).